gfxgfx
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo
 
gfx gfx
gfx
1822 Posts in 153 Topics by 29 Members - Latest Member: Frosty[SA] September 16, 2021, 11:16:07 pm
*
Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!
gfx* Home | Help | Search | Calendar | Login | Register | Site | gfx
gfx
Server Admins  |  General Category  |  News  |  Down time
gfx
gfxgfx
 

Author Topic: Down time  (Read 806 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 862
  • Age: 47
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 43.0 Firefox 43.0
Re: Down time
« Reply #15 on: December 23, 2015, 11:08:18 pm »
Oh good ya I see everything again :) Yesterday nothing was coming up for me
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

NETBOOK:
PC: Acer Aspire ONE (D250 10.1")    //   CPU: Intel® Atom CPU N270  @ 1.60GHz   RAM: 2.0 GB DDR2
Video Card: Intel® GMA 950 (256Mb)    OS: Windows 7 Starter 32-bit SP1

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1157
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Android 4.4.2 Android 4.4.2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 43.0 Firefox 43.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Down time
« Reply #16 on: December 24, 2015, 02:46:19 pm »
I've also been having a issue with the servers internal IP changing on it's own.  And I finally figured out that it was my WiFi thermostat had crashed and was causing a network conflict.  Forcing all devices connected to the router to change IP's if something was to connect wirelessly.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 862
  • Age: 47
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 43.0 Firefox 43.0
Re: Down time
« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2015, 02:05:16 am »
AH okay
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

NETBOOK:
PC: Acer Aspire ONE (D250 10.1")    //   CPU: Intel® Atom CPU N270  @ 1.60GHz   RAM: 2.0 GB DDR2
Video Card: Intel® GMA 950 (256Mb)    OS: Windows 7 Starter 32-bit SP1

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1157
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 10 Windows 10
  • Browser:
  • Internet Explorer 11 Internet Explorer 11
    • The Server Admins
Re: Down time
« Reply #18 on: December 22, 2019, 05:32:03 pm »
If anyone had noticed, the server had been acting up for a little while now.  Server crashing, slow downs and random database and other file corruptions.  As it turns out, it was the slave hdd slowly failing and yesterday, it finally gave up.  The server had been running a Seagate 250gb sata laptop hdd.  I had ordered a replacement drive last week (WD Blue 500gb sata ssd) and got it in the mail the same day the old one decided to quit.  I had repeatedly tried to get the old disk to read just once more by pulling it from the server PC and putting in my PC's external usb drive dock.  Still no luck.  I can see the drive show up in the device manager but it was showing as offline.  I can hear the disk spinning and the voice coil is working.    So one last ditch effort before calling a data recovery service, I decided to try a utility called EaseUS Data Recovery.  It took a couple of hours but it was able to rebuild the drives master boot record (MBR for short) and I was able to access the drive once again.

Everything is all backed up on my computer and uploaded to the new ssd that took it's place.  I hope there is no more problems.  But at least now, I have a full backup of that drive.

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1157
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 10 Windows 10
  • Browser:
  • Internet Explorer 11 Internet Explorer 11
    • The Server Admins
Re: Down time
« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2019, 05:36:50 pm »
Just a little update to the on going server issue.  So just recently, I managed to salvage the majority of the data from the dying slave drive from the server PC.  And I had copied it to a brand new SSD and rebooted the server from it and everything was working fine.  Today, I decided to consolidate everything back on to one drive again.  It took a while to get everything up and running again and I did wind up losing only a couple of posts from the sql database in the process.  I still might have a couple of bug to work out but the server now has a new 500gb SSD.  Please let me know if you find any issues with the server.

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1157
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 10 Windows 10
  • Browser:
  • Internet Explorer 11 Internet Explorer 11
    • The Server Admins
Re: Down time
« Reply #20 on: January 19, 2020, 07:34:53 pm »
So I did stumble onto a issue.  I noticed the server wasn't sending out email notifications.  As it turns out, the sendmail module was not salvageable from the old hard drive.  Luckily, I had a copy of it.  But I had to reconfigure it again.  I hope I got it setup right?  Please let me know if there are any other issues.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 862
  • Age: 47
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 10 Windows 10
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102 Chrome 70.0.3538.102
Re: Down time
« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2020, 02:08:59 pm »
So I did stumble onto a issue.  I noticed the server wasn't sending out email notifications.  As it turns out, the sendmail module was not salvageable from the old hard drive.  Luckily, I had a copy of it.  But I had to reconfigure it again.  I hope I got it setup right?  Please let me know if there are any other issues.

That would explain that :)
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

NETBOOK:
PC: Acer Aspire ONE (D250 10.1")    //   CPU: Intel® Atom CPU N270  @ 1.60GHz   RAM: 2.0 GB DDR2
Video Card: Intel® GMA 950 (256Mb)    OS: Windows 7 Starter 32-bit SP1

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1157
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 10 Windows 10
  • Browser:
  • Internet Explorer 11 Internet Explorer 11
    • The Server Admins
Re: Down time
« Reply #22 on: January 21, 2020, 10:19:12 pm »
After an hour since I re-enabled sendmail, the logs filled up quick with authentication errors.  Well, it turns out that I had entered all the right information but forgot to edit some comment marks in the config file.  :duh:  Anyway, sendmail should be working properly now.

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1157
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Microsoft Edge Microsoft Edge
    • The Server Admins
Re: Down time
« Reply #23 on: August 19, 2021, 04:53:40 pm »
So today, I did a complete system clean up.  Cleaned out all the dust and re-did the thermal paste on both the CPU and GPU.  Nice thing about these old Radeon GPU's is, it's only 4 screws to remove the cooler from it.

I still don't know why I am getting console port errors from Abyss when the computer is starting back up.  I basically have to go into the Abyss web server config, change the port manually.  Restart the computer and Abyss will error again.  Manually change the port back again, restart Abyss, and then loads normally?  You would think that something else is using that port on startup.  But it's only Abyss....

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Sergeant
  • ****
  • Posts: 436
  • Age: 51
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 10 Windows 10
  • Browser:
  • Microsoft Edge Microsoft Edge
Re: Down time
« Reply #24 on: August 25, 2021, 05:48:38 pm »
 Didn't change any bio's setting that you might have forgot about did you?

Server Admins  |  General Category  |  News  |  Down time
 

gfxgfx
gfx
SMF 2.0.6 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Copyright © 2000-2021 Server Admins All Rights Reserved.
Page created in 0.212 seconds with 17 queries.
Helios Multi © Bloc
gfx
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!