gfxgfx
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo
 
gfx gfx
gfx
1998 Posts in 165 Topics by 29 Members - Latest Member: Frosty[SA] August 08, 2022, 04:17:53 am
*
Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!
gfx* Home | Help | Search | Calendar | Login | Register | Site | gfx
gfx
Server Admins  |  General Category  |  Geek / Games Discussion  |  Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
gfx
gfxgfx
 

Author Topic: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)  (Read 5430 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 915
  • Age: 48
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 36.0 Firefox 36.0
Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« on: February 27, 2015, 05:24:08 pm »
As you know Sand, One Eyed Wonder Weasel updated my computer with this Quad core Q9550. I thought I would post here about it. :)  Is this it? http://ark.intel.com/products/33924/Intel-Core2-Quad-Processor-Q9550-12M-Cache-2_83-GHz-1333-MHz-FSB

I took the info from EVEREST Ultimate Ed and put that in a spoiler below:

Spoiler (hover to show)


He also updated my Video Card to a Radeon HD 5800 Series (PCI Express 2.0 x16: ATI Radeon HD 5870 (Cypress)) and now I am able to view games at a higher setting than before. :)




Spoiler (hover to show)

« Last Edit: March 02, 2015, 12:59:02 pm by [IA] KT KaBo0M »
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

NETBOOK:
PC: Acer Aspire ONE (D250 10.1")    //   CPU: Intel® Atom CPU N270  @ 1.60GHz   RAM: 2.0 GB DDR2
Video Card: Intel® GMA 950 (256Mb)    OS: Windows 7 Starter 32-bit SP1

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1227
  • Age: 54
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2015, 12:37:30 am »
Ummm, the link and image that you posted is for a Radeon 4850.  Similar to your "old" video card.  :duh:
« Last Edit: March 02, 2015, 01:00:40 pm by [IA] KT KaBo0M »

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 482
  • Age: 52
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2015, 02:43:13 pm »
If I remember correctly the card she has now is this one.
her old one was this one.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2015, 01:01:22 pm by [IA] KT KaBo0M »

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 915
  • Age: 48
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 36.0 Firefox 36.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2015, 12:48:18 pm »
Thanks Dave. For some reason it is hard to find an exact pic of my current vid card..  OH! I just checked EVEREST and you are right! Mine is the 4850! But still had a hard time finding the pic  :duh:  .. why are there so many different kinds of 5870? (different looks)?
« Last Edit: March 02, 2015, 01:00:13 pm by [IA] KT KaBo0M »
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

NETBOOK:
PC: Acer Aspire ONE (D250 10.1")    //   CPU: Intel® Atom CPU N270  @ 1.60GHz   RAM: 2.0 GB DDR2
Video Card: Intel® GMA 950 (256Mb)    OS: Windows 7 Starter 32-bit SP1

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1227
  • Age: 54
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2015, 09:57:14 pm »
why are there so many different kinds of 5870? (different looks)?

This is how they indicate different versions.  Kind of like how they use to have generic, pro and XT cards back in the day?  Back then, it was easy to tell just by looking at the heatsync and fan.  Now you can't see that so easy so now they use the case colors to showcase the version.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 915
  • Age: 48
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 36.0 Firefox 36.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2015, 09:20:38 pm »
why are there so many different kinds of 5870? (different looks)?

This is how they indicate different versions.  Kind of like how they use to have generic, pro and XT cards back in the day?  Back then, it was easy to tell just by looking at the heatsync and fan.  Now you can't see that so easy so now they use the case colors to showcase the version.

Ah okay thanks.  Ya I was trying to find a site on the specs and had a hard time. I wanted more than just a benchmark comparison so Dave got me this link:

http://www.cnet.com/products/xfx-radeon-hd-5870-graphics-card-radeon-hd-5870-1-gb-series/specs/
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

NETBOOK:
PC: Acer Aspire ONE (D250 10.1")    //   CPU: Intel® Atom CPU N270  @ 1.60GHz   RAM: 2.0 GB DDR2
Video Card: Intel® GMA 950 (256Mb)    OS: Windows 7 Starter 32-bit SP1

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline Rabid Zucchini

  • SAMember
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • Operating System:
  • Windows Vista/Server 2008 Windows Vista/Server 2008
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 9.0 MS Internet Explorer 9.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2015, 11:55:03 pm »
ooooo, pretty!!!
 ;D

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 915
  • Age: 48
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 43.0 Firefox 43.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2016, 11:41:56 am »
I was posting a reply http://www.killerz.dns2go.com/smfbb20/index.php?topic=58.msg921#msg921 but decided to not take that thread off topic so I posted the rest here:

My computer is sooo slow and I still don't know why. Thought it was the memory since I only have 4Gb ... thought it might be my HDD since it is from Kodiac and is old but it seems to pass tests .. One Eyed says it is because I have only 27% space free on my 1Tb hard drive... I don't know. Maybe defragging will help then?

Either way I asked Dave to be on the look out but I just don't have the money for anything with owing so much money in debt :(  Heck I would be very happy with an i5 if not an i7 since I have an i3 I believe and is so slow in my favourite game I play as well as I have stuttering problems when watching videos.
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

NETBOOK:
PC: Acer Aspire ONE (D250 10.1")    //   CPU: Intel® Atom CPU N270  @ 1.60GHz   RAM: 2.0 GB DDR2
Video Card: Intel® GMA 950 (256Mb)    OS: Windows 7 Starter 32-bit SP1

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 482
  • Age: 52
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 43.0 Firefox 43.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2016, 05:58:19 pm »
 Moving stuff off your drive to your external doesn't cost anything but time. plus another way to save space is to delete local content on games you never play anymore. can always re-download them  if you feel like playing them at a later date.

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1227
  • Age: 54
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2016, 08:58:32 pm »
My computer is sooo slow and I still don't know why. Thought it was the memory since I only have 4Gb ... thought it might be my HDD since it is from Kodiac and is old but it seems to pass tests .. One Eyed says it is because I have only 27% space free on my 1Tb hard drive... I don't know. Maybe defragging will help then?

Is your version of windows 32bit or 64bit?  32bit windows is limited to only 3gb of ram.  64bit can support 192gb of ram if I remember correctly.  But clearing off some un-used data and a defrag would help a bit.

Heck I would be very happy with an i5 if not an i7 since I have an i3 I believe and is so slow in my favourite game I play as well as I have stuttering problems when watching videos.

Umm, you have a Pentium Core class processor.  Not an "I" class processor.  And I would check to make sure that you have no other programs running in the background.  And that you make sure that your coolers are clean and all fans are working.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 915
  • Age: 48
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 43.0 Firefox 43.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2016, 01:45:13 pm »
You know I have 64-bit Sand. U got it for me :P

When people ask what I have .. I thought I had an i3 .. no idea lol. But ya my computer tends to attract dust... a LOT. I have been watching the temps. They are good. Something else is causing the slow down though. Already defragged and had freed up space (to as much as is free now) and not really noticed any difference.  Something is running in the background while I game for sure but I am not sure what. Because GW2 uses the wiki a lot I keep Firefox open but many times I have to close it even though I have it set to only load a tab once I go to it and not tabs in the background.

I have running my Logitech Gaming Software, Lezmark 1200 All in one printer service, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Home Premium running, MSI Afterburner v4, Riva Tuner, Avast Anti-Virus and that is all that is showing on the task bar by the clock.  52% memory is being used right now as I type this.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2016, 01:52:47 pm by [IA] KT KaBo0M »
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

NETBOOK:
PC: Acer Aspire ONE (D250 10.1")    //   CPU: Intel® Atom CPU N270  @ 1.60GHz   RAM: 2.0 GB DDR2
Video Card: Intel® GMA 950 (256Mb)    OS: Windows 7 Starter 32-bit SP1

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1227
  • Age: 54
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2016, 09:36:30 pm »
You know I have 64-bit Sand. U got it for me :P

Umm, couldn't remember.  I know it's win7 pro though.

Anyway, 52% of 4 gigs of ram used and not even in a game yet?  Something is not right. Might want to bring up the task manager and see what's eating up so much ram.  I bet ya a box of doughnuts that it's your browser with all it's plugins having lunch with your ram.  lol  Might want to try running the browser in safe mode or turning off some plugins when playing browser based games.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 915
  • Age: 48
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 43.0 Firefox 43.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2016, 02:52:52 pm »
You know I have 64-bit Sand. U got it for me :P

Umm, couldn't remember.  I know it's win7 pro though.

Anyway, 52% of 4 gigs of ram used and not even in a game yet?  Something is not right. Might want to bring up the task manager and see what's eating up so much ram.  I bet ya a box of doughnuts that it's your browser with all it's plugins having lunch with your ram.  lol  Might want to try running the browser in safe mode or turning off some plugins when playing browser based games.

Even when I don't have the browser running? And I don't play browser games. I play real games lol.

Right now at 45% mem used I do have the browser running so I can post this.

Memory (Private Working Set) top offenders currently while I type this are:

Firefox (578,240K)
sidebar (54,356K)
dwm.exe (21,044K)
PCMeterV0.4.exe (17,308K)
explorer.exe (15,112K)
Rocketdock.exe (8,596K)
mbam.exe (6,776K)
AvastUI.exe (6,416K)

I attempted to play L4D2 with 3 people and I kept crashing if I would take screenshots in game through Steam. I used to be able to .. heck I used to even be able to record in game video at one time.. it seems I can do less than I used to. To me it seems like it is having trouble writing fast enough... but I don't have a clue.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2016, 02:55:07 pm by [IA] KT KaBo0M »
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

NETBOOK:
PC: Acer Aspire ONE (D250 10.1")    //   CPU: Intel® Atom CPU N270  @ 1.60GHz   RAM: 2.0 GB DDR2
Video Card: Intel® GMA 950 (256Mb)    OS: Windows 7 Starter 32-bit SP1

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1227
  • Age: 54
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2016, 01:03:32 am »
I don't get why FF uses so much more ram then IE.  Freshly opened browsers going straight to this page....

IE = 14k
FF = 330k

FF is using nearly 30 times as much ram compared to IE.

But yeah.  It's beginning to look like it might be time to blow out windows and reinstall fresh.  Dave should have done that from the start when he "upgraded" your hardware.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2016, 01:10:53 am by Sandman[SA] »

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 482
  • Age: 52
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #14 on: February 01, 2016, 05:02:59 pm »
 I did recommend the clean install at the time. I think she is backing up her stuff to prep for doing one. not sure. if I do the clean install over here, I can get all the dust build up gone too and check for over heating too.

Server Admins  |  General Category  |  Geek / Games Discussion  |  Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
 

gfxgfx
gfx
SMF 2.0.6 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Copyright © 2000-2022 Server Admins All Rights Reserved.
Page created in 0.26 seconds with 15 queries.
Helios Multi © Bloc
gfx
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!