gfxgfx
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo
 
gfx gfx
gfx
2295 Posts in 180 Topics by 29 Members - Latest Member: Frosty[SA] May 31, 2023, 04:15:04 pm
*
Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!
gfx* Home | Help | Search | Calendar | Login | Register | Site | gfx
gfx
Server Admins  |  General Category  |  Geek / Games Discussion  |  Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
gfx
gfxgfx
 

Author Topic: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)  (Read 7367 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
  • Age: 49
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #75 on: March 03, 2016, 10:58:15 am »
Dave, you emailed me saying I could get the same board I have now: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/HP-Compaq-Desktop-Motherboard-IPIBL-LB-Benicia-1-01-ASUS-/301867366182?hash=item4648b27726:g:GNMAAOSwuAVWt3-c

Is that the best for me for now til I have more money? I mean that WOULD be a good way to test if it IS in fact JUST the Motherboard that IS the problem.

That is a very affordable option.

Probably wise as if putting this in and still have issues would mean something else is the cause. OR it could get me back to where I was in gaming :P

I can't afford to totally replace with something better at the moment anyway.

As it is  .. in terms of "gaming class" my computer has been able to game but isn't really considered to be of gaming class right?

http://www.pc-specs.com/mobo/Asus/Asus_IPIBL-LB-Benicia-GL8E/6

Is this mine? I don't know if the GL8E/6 at the end makes it different than mine or not.

As it is .. hey Dave do you remember WHICH capacitors were "popped" but not leaking?

Maybe you can circle the 2 on the image?

« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 11:08:07 am by [IA] KT KaBo0M »
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

PC Post: In Win11 thread

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 569
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #76 on: March 03, 2016, 12:13:01 pm »
here's is a search on your mb http://www.ebay.ca/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_nkw=IPIBL-LB+%28Benicia&_sop=15
 I think it was these two caps that were swollen and leaking

« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 12:44:24 pm by One Eyed Wonderweasle »

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
  • Age: 49
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #77 on: March 03, 2016, 12:22:28 pm »
same as yours minus a couple of connections you don't use anyway.
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Asus-IPIBL-LB-with-Intel-E4600-/262309115411?hash=item3d12d77613:g:YocAAOSw3KFWfdNg
another same as yours
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/ASUS-IPIBL-LB-Rev-1-01-HP-462797-001Motherboard-459163-002-/191816213060?hash=item2ca9232244:g:-3QAAOSwzgRW1H9F
as far as dual graphics goes. if your ad in card is worse than or equal to the apu's graphics you may see some improvement. but if your card is better than the Apu's graphics, you would get a decrease in performance. plus not all games will support dual graphics. And no I'm not using the wrong term ( you can only crossfire with 2 of the same Amd/Ati cards like 2x hd7770 where you can dual graphics certain, not all, similar graphics cards or card and Apu combos.

I got a question:

Would the ASUS IPIBL-LB Rev 1.01 HP 462797-001Motherboard 459163-002  be able to use my Sub Woofer?



My current setup has:



I am talking about the http://www.ebay.ca/itm/191816213060 link
« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 12:26:16 pm by [IA] KT KaBo0M »
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

PC Post: In Win11 thread

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
  • Age: 49
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #78 on: March 03, 2016, 12:34:13 pm »
here's is a search on your mb http://www.ebay.ca/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_nkw=IPIBL-LB+%28Benicia&_sop=15

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/HP-Compaq-Desktop-Motherboard-IPIBL-LB-Benicia-1-01-ASUS-/301867366182?hash=item4648b27726:g:GNMAAOSwuAVWt3-c

that one looks best. It is IDENTICAL to my current Motherboard.





Okay this time connected my cell to the USB card instead of using the Motherboard USB ports I was able to grab the pic I took of my motherboard off of it. Here are which caps are swollen Jeff:

« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 02:38:39 pm by [IA] KT KaBo0M »
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

PC Post: In Win11 thread

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
  • Age: 49
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #79 on: March 03, 2016, 03:18:27 pm »
I think I finally found the Motherboard Manual online!

http://www.ctechinfo.net/documentation/manuals/berkeley_manual.pdf



Oh yes also Jeff I will eventually post the pic of the case for you :D

The case I had bought is compatible according to this website: http://www.pc-specs.com/mobo/Asus/_Asus_IPIBL-LB-Benicia-GL8E/6/Compatible_Cases

I got the Apevia X-Hermes-BL and I love the lighting and it has loads of cooling.

This is what it looks like:





This looks like it but mine is blue lighting:



« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 03:47:17 pm by [IA] KT KaBo0M »
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

PC Post: In Win11 thread

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 569
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #80 on: March 03, 2016, 04:27:28 pm »
wrong mb manual. Benicia not Berkeley. similliar in looks but won't do 1333 fsb that your cpu requires.
http://support.hp.com/us-en/product/HP-Pavilion-a6400-Desktop-PC-series/3677047/model/3686669/product-info
that is your product page.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
  • Age: 49
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

PC Post: In Win11 thread

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 569
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #82 on: March 03, 2016, 04:39:55 pm »
alot of people figure hey the company is not making these mb's any more if people that just buy off amazon want to get one and we are the only one advertising, can set whatever we want for the price. but as you saw on ebay some people ask more than hp ever charged when they sold them new, for one used these days. some people don't shop around.
 The reason they didn't put out a specific motherboard manual is because  the mb was not meant to be sold for retail on it's own, it was part of a factory produced computer. Wasn't sold as an aftermarket motherboard.
  but they do list most mb info here
http://support.hp.com/us-en/product/HP-Pavilion-a6000-Desktop-PC-series/3677047/model/3686669/document/c01324212/
« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 04:52:24 pm by One Eyed Wonderweasle »

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1351
  • Age: 55
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #83 on: March 04, 2016, 12:05:57 am »
Okay.  So by the looks of it, you have blown a capacitor for the north bridge and another for the memory controller.  My guess is that it took a hit from a power spike maybe?  I am highly amazed that the thing even works.  So yeah, jump on just replacing the mobo for now and we can work on a full system upgrade later.

Nice case by the way KT.  And believe me, it's money well spent since your computer never sleeps.  lol

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
  • Age: 49
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #84 on: March 04, 2016, 11:13:03 pm »
Okay.  So by the looks of it, you have blown a capacitor for the north bridge and another for the memory controller.  My guess is that it took a hit from a power spike maybe?  I am highly amazed that the thing even works.  So yeah, jump on just replacing the mobo for now and we can work on a full system upgrade later.

Nice case by the way KT.  And believe me, it's money well spent since your computer never sleeps.  lol

 :lmao: thx :)
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

PC Post: In Win11 thread

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
  • Age: 49
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #85 on: March 07, 2016, 02:12:19 am »
Should I worry about my hard drive?

Quote
Checking file system on C:
The type of the file system is NTFS.
Volume label is Boot Disk C.

A disk check has been scheduled.
Windows will now check the disk.

CHKDSK is verifying files (stage 1 of 5)...
259072 file records processed. File verification completed.
760 large file records processed. 0 bad file records processed. 2 EA records processed. 47 reparse records processed. CHKDSK is verifying indexes (stage 2 of 5)...
315608 index entries processed. Index verification completed.
0 unindexed files scanned. 0 unindexed files recovered. CHKDSK is verifying security descriptors (stage 3 of 5)...
259072 file SDs/SIDs processed. Cleaning up 32 unused index entries from index $SII of file 0x9.
Cleaning up 32 unused index entries from index $SDH of file 0x9.
Cleaning up 32 unused security descriptors.
Security descriptor verification completed.
28269 data files processed. CHKDSK is verifying Usn Journal...
36466080 USN bytes processed. Usn Journal verification completed.
CHKDSK is verifying file data (stage 4 of 5)...
259056 files processed. File data verification completed.
CHKDSK is verifying free space (stage 5 of 5)...
54450019 free clusters processed. Free space verification is complete.
Windows has checked the file system and found no problems.

312466431 KB total disk space.
94182608 KB in 141858 files.
111760 KB in 28270 indexes.
4 KB in bad sectors.
371983 KB in use by the system.
65536 KB occupied by the log file.
217800076 KB available on disk.

4096 bytes in each allocation unit.
78116607 total allocation units on disk.
54450019 allocation units available on disk.

Internal Info:
00 f4 03 00 9b 98 02 00 e0 e1 04 00 00 00 00 00 ................
94 61 00 00 2f 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 .a../...........
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................

Windows has finished checking your disk.
Please wait while your computer restarts.
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

PC Post: In Win11 thread

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 569
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #86 on: March 07, 2016, 12:12:38 pm »
4k in bad sectors on an old drive is not huge. 1000k makes a meg. 1000megs makes a gig. check the reallocated sectors in the smart data can be done under storage in everest. as long as your not getting exclamation marks in the smart data. the drive is probably still usable. but I told you you really shouldn't continue to use the tower till you get the replacement motherboard. you have the laptop there use it. or are you waiting till the bad motherboard kills something before you stop using it?

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
  • Age: 49
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 44.0 Firefox 44.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #87 on: March 10, 2016, 04:17:15 pm »
I used your computer and my mom's and also your laptop to check but ya I haven't been on here as much lately.  Also I hadn't had anymore issues since going back to that old ram except for that one BSOD.

Anyway hey Jeff do you have any lighting clips?

This is the lighting I have and so far it seems I am going to have to use double sided sticky tape from the dollar store since the clips for this are not sold separately from the lighting (this lighting is now a couple years old but the manufacturer still sells the whole kit):

https://www.nzxt.com/products/lighting-kit




« Last Edit: March 10, 2016, 04:33:11 pm by [IA] KT KaBo0M »
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

PC Post: In Win11 thread

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1351
  • Age: 55
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #88 on: March 20, 2016, 10:24:14 pm »
Nah, I don't have any lighting clips.  I have just used LED lighting strips that you can find at most automotive stores.  They have them in a nice assortment of colors and a couple of different sizes, styles and brightness levels.  They are 12 volt lights so you can adapt them to any spare molex connector from a old, burned out fan or something.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
  • Age: 49
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #89 on: March 21, 2016, 03:46:35 am »
Nah, I don't have any lighting clips.  I have just used LED lighting strips that you can find at most automotive stores.  They have them in a nice assortment of colors and a couple of different sizes, styles and brightness levels.  They are 12 volt lights so you can adapt them to any spare molex connector from a old, burned out fan or something.

I think Dave does that but I honestly thought it would have been very easy to get these clips. It turns out that they are unique to the company that I got mine from and they do not sell them separately from the lighting system which is a shame. I had contacted them.

Anyway I didn't want to take new lighting as the old works just fine. Right now it is kinda just sitting there around everything for the most part with a few clips that still stick. One of these days I may take Superglue and restick some of the ones if any are hanging down. I do have double sided white stickies Dave and I found at a store so I can use them but not sure how well that will work. I will just have to see. SuperGlue would be the 2nd thing to try if the doublesided white stickies don't hold well enough.

Anyway I will see if Dave can put in the other Motherboard this week as I think I am picking it up tomorrow from Shopper's.

Right now I am typing this at my mom's from my Netbook (Dave's laptop is at my place as I forgot to bring it) and am staying over night. Dave does not want me to use my computer at all until he puts in the replacement motherboard. It is the same motherboard I currently have but all the caps look fine.

Between spending time with his sister and father as well as working on my mom's computer I haven't been on much (as you can tell).

How are things here? lol
« Last Edit: March 21, 2016, 03:56:57 am by [IA] KT KaBo0M »
KaTiE 💣 KaBo0M!

DESKTOP - Main Rig:  
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600 (3DMark Score: 2,909)
GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760  (3DMark Score: 1,729)
RAM: 16Gb DDR3

PC Post: In Win11 thread

Say HI on KT`s ShoutBox!  / KT KaBo0M Vid

Server Admins  |  General Category  |  Geek / Games Discussion  |  Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
 

gfxgfx
gfx
SMF 2.0.6 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Copyright © 2000-2022 Server Admins All Rights Reserved.
Page created in 0.286 seconds with 20 queries.
Helios Multi © Bloc
gfx
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!