gfxgfx
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo
 
gfx gfx
gfx
3028 Posts in 218 Topics by 30 Members - Latest Member: Kodiac April 16, 2024, 01:31:31 pm
*
Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!
gfx* Home | Help | Search | Calendar | Login | Register | Site | gfx
gfx
Server Admins  |  General Category  |  Geek / Games Discussion  |  Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
gfx
gfxgfx
 

Author Topic: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)  (Read 20199 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #90 on: March 21, 2016, 01:06:45 pm »
 I think he thought you needed something to connect your lighting to power it (lighting clips) that was why he was talking about power connections. Mounting clips for your led lighting strip might have been more clear on what you were looking for. And yeah I could put the motherboard in tonight if it's here (In Windsor), just give me a call.

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1644
  • Age: 56
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #91 on: March 21, 2016, 11:45:47 pm »
I might want to suggest going to a hardware store or walmart maybe, look for stick on picture hangers.  They might be a good substitute.

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #92 on: March 22, 2016, 03:22:30 pm »
"stick on picture hangers"
 I think that might be what she referred to as double sided sticky tape comes like a pad of little square pieces.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1307
  • Age: 50
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #93 on: April 08, 2016, 02:06:17 pm »
Ya

Hey Dave when u redid my Windows on this computer .. did you use MY Windows 7 key or your own? Because of the Hardware change it wants me to validate and now it will NOT accept my key!



Reading up on this now as I am frustrated and when I am I get a little impatient lol :P

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-ca/windows7/windows-7-activation-error-0xc004c008

https://support.microsoft.com/en-ca/kb/938450

Error code Error messageActivation type          Possible causeTroubleshooting steps
0xC004C008            The activation server determined that the specified product key could not be used.         KMSThe KMS key has exceeded the activation limit.KMS host keys will activate up to 10 times on six different computers. If more activations are necessary, contact the Microsoft Activation Call Center.

http://kb.fortinet.com/kb/documentLink.do?externalID=FD36441


I guess my first step is to call up Microsoft @ (888) 352 7140

Quote
With Volume Licensing for products such as Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows Server 2012 R2 for Embedded Systems, Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Vista, Windows Server 2008, Microsoft Office 2010, and Office 2013, you must use Volume Activation (VA). To activate these products with VA, you can use either a Multiple Activation Key (MAK) or Key Management Service (KMS).

Offline One Eyed Wonderweasle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Age: 53
  • Location: Windsor Ontario Canada
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #94 on: April 08, 2016, 03:13:27 pm »
 I used your key, it just doesn't like that it is a slightly different motherboard so soon after the last install and activation. But you might want to re-edit that last pic to blank out the code info in it.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1307
  • Age: 50
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #95 on: April 08, 2016, 03:17:50 pm »
I used your key, it just doesn't like that it is a slightly different motherboard so soon after the last install and activation. But you might want to re-edit that last pic to blank out the code info in it.

Thanks I did what you said. I called Microsoft, dealt with the computerized friendly but patronizing voice but was easy to understand and got it activated now. :)

I guess over the years of changes and reinstalling Windows since 2010 when I first got Win7 through Jeff it used up all my 10 uses so now I needed to use a confirmation code they gave me after verifying it is really me and this is really for my computer. I didn't even need to say why as it already detected hardware changes. They asked how many computers I have used this Win7 code for and I said 1 and they verified that was correct as well.




Haven't tested to see if the old problems exist still if I do the old things I have done such as plugging USB in the front ports or ...  I forget what else set off BSOD before .. been awhile lol 

oh ya that 8Gb of ram I already returned. Can't test with that. 

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1644
  • Age: 56
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #96 on: April 08, 2016, 11:10:02 pm »
There is a considered "allowable time frame" for system changes such as replacement disk drives, processors and main boards.  I think that is about 9 months to 1 year.  If you replace a part that requires a re-activation, then it resets this clock.  If you have to re-activate before the allowable time frame expires, then you have to contact MS to get a re-activation code.  The code that you present them, tells them what hardware has changed since the last activation process.

Technically, you can re-install windows on the same machine, with no hardware changes, several times in a year if you want to.  Without having to contact MS.  But if they detect any hardware changes, then they want to know why.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1307
  • Age: 50
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #97 on: April 11, 2016, 01:44:33 pm »
There is a considered "allowable time frame" for system changes such as replacement disk drives, processors and main boards.  I think that is about 9 months to 1 year.  If you replace a part that requires a re-activation, then it resets this clock.  If you have to re-activate before the allowable time frame expires, then you have to contact MS to get a re-activation code.  The code that you present them, tells them what hardware has changed since the last activation process.

Technically, you can re-install windows on the same machine, with no hardware changes, several times in a year if you want to.  Without having to contact MS.  But if they detect any hardware changes, then they want to know why.

Why do they need to know why?

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1644
  • Age: 56
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #98 on: April 11, 2016, 08:36:53 pm »
Why do they need to know why?

It's called a "anti pirating measure".  It's their wonderful idea in order to prevent one product key from being used on many computers.  And stop the loss of sales because of that.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1307
  • Age: 50
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #99 on: April 14, 2016, 04:11:16 pm »
Okay

Well I am off to the store with my mom so I don't know what time I will be back but ya Windows is now verified :)

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1644
  • Age: 56
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #100 on: April 14, 2016, 10:35:00 pm »
Okay

Well I am off to the store with my mom so I don't know what time I will be back but ya Windows is now verified :)

Glad to hear it.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1307
  • Age: 50
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #101 on: April 15, 2016, 06:17:46 pm »
I currently have not been able to play any steam games as Steam for some reason says it is in Compatibility mode even though when I look in properties it does not.  I suspect this is because of how I did Steam. I moved it from one Drive to another. But Dave was the one that said that should be fine as with each game I have to just do a verification. So now he gave me this information to check out so reading that now:

https://joshmccarty.com/2012/01/turn-off-compatibility-mode-for-steam/

Also I am sick so not on the computer a lot. so I will focus on that after I am better.

Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1644
  • Age: 56
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #102 on: April 16, 2016, 07:19:00 pm »
You should have just did a fresh install of steam on the new drive.  Let it update fully and shut it down.  Then copy over all the files from the other drive and launch steam again.

Offline KT 💣 KλBoƠM

  • Security
  • Spam Fighter
  • *
  • Posts: 1307
  • Age: 50
  • Location: Canada
  • Karma: +1974/-0
  • Gender: Female
  • 💔 🤦🏽‍♀️ 💣 💥
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 45.0 Firefox 45.0
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #103 on: April 25, 2016, 06:31:17 am »
Well .. ya .. I have been putting off Steam because of all this and being sick .. just didn't want to deal with it. Loaded up the Steam page today (not the program but just the steam) because I am bored of GW2 and I saw Frosty gave me Arc:


Offline Sandman[SA]

  • Head Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1644
  • Age: 56
  • Location: Philadelphia PA
  • Karma: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 11.0 MS Internet Explorer 11.0
    • The Server Admins
Re: Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
« Reply #104 on: April 25, 2016, 08:17:40 pm »
Oh, cool.  That was nice of him.

Server Admins  |  General Category  |  Geek / Games Discussion  |  Katie's Latest CPU (Quad Q9550) & Vid Card (ATI Radeon HD 5870)
 

gfxgfx
gfx
SMF 2.0.6 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Copyright © 2000-2024 Server Admins All Rights Reserved.
Page created in 0.243 seconds with 15 queries.
Helios Multi © Bloc
gfx
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!